ShaadiShop’s 2022 South Asian Social Calendar

We publish this wedding date guide annually. It’s purpose is to show you month-by-month South Asian religious and cultural dates as well as national holidays that could impact the preferred dates that you select for your wedding.

The reason the dates are important is because that’s the first thing venues look at when or your wedding. Venues look to see whether their space is available on your preferred dates. If it is, then the conversation can move forward. If not, then they will ask if you are considering alternative dates.

ShaadiShop’s 2022 South Asian Social Calendar Features:

January 2022

January 1, Saturday, Happy New Year!
January 8, Saturday, Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
January 13, Thursday, Lohri
January 13-16, Thursday-Saturday, Pongal (Tamil Harvest Festival)

February 2022


February 21, Monday, President’s Day (3 day weekend for some)

March 2022

March 1, Tuesday, Maha Shivratri
March 8, Tuesday, Holi

April 2022

April 2, Sunday, Ugadi (Telugu New Year)
April 2, Saturday, 1st day of Ramadan
April 10, Sunday, Ram Navami
April 14, Thursday, Vaisakhi
April 14, Thursday, Mahavir Jayanti
April 14, Thursday, Puthandu (Tamil New Year)
April 15, Friday, Passover starts
April 16, Saturday, Hanuman Jayanti
April 17, Sunday, Easter
April 23, Saturday, Passover ends
April 15, Friday Passover starts

May 2022

May 1, Sunday, Eid al-Fitr and Chaand Raat
May 16, Monday, Vesak, Buddha’s birthday
May 30, Monday, Memorial Day

July 2022

July 4, Monday, Happy birthday America!
July 9-10, Sunday-Monday, Eid al-Adha

August 2022

August 11, Thursday, Raksha Bandhan
August 18, Thursday, Janmashtami
August 24-September 1, Wednesday to the following Thursday, Paryushan
Aug. 30, Tuesday, Ganesh Chaturthi

September 2022

September 5, Monday, Labor Day (USA)
September 8, Thursday, Onam
September 26, Monday, Navratri starts

October 2022

October 4, Tuesday, Navratri ends
October 4, Tuesday, Dussehra
October 10, Monday, Columbus Day (USA) some people get the day off
October 13, Thursday, Karwa Chauth
October 24, Monday, Diwali
October 27, Wednesday, Bhai Dhooj

Note: Garba will be every weekend this month

November 2022

November 8, Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
November 24, Thursday, Thanksgiving (USA)

December 2022

Dec. 18-26, Hannukah
Dec. 25, Sunday, Christmas

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! 🙂

Cover image: Wedding Documentary Photo + Video; Venue: Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort