ShaadiShop’s 2022 South Asian Social Calendar: Wedding Date Guide

ShaadiShop’s 2022 South Asian Social Calendar Features:


Some of the couples we’re working with to find their wedding venue are already starting to look at wedding dates for 2020 and 2021 and not that far off people will start looking for dates in 2022, so we wanted to get ahead so you don’t have to look up all of these dates individually!


January 2022

January 1, Saturday, Happy New Year!
January 8, Saturday, Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
January 13, Thursday, Lohri
January 13-16, Thursday-Saturday, Pongal (Tamil Harvest Festival)
January 26, Wednesday, India’s Republic Day

February 2022

February 4, Friday, Sri Lankan Independence Day
February 6 or 13?, Sunday, Superbowl, TBD
February 21, Monday, President’s Day (3 day weekend for some)

March 2022

March 1, Tuesday, Maha Shivratri
March 8, Tuesday, Holi
March 17, Thursday, St. Patrick’s Day
March 26, Saturday, Bangladesh Independence Day

April 2022

April 2, Sunday, Ugadi (Telugu New Year)
April 2, Saturday, 1st day of Ramadan
April 10, Sunday, Ram Navami
April 8-10, Friday-Sunday, Coachella Weekend 1
April 14, Thursday, Vaisakhi
April 14, Thursday, Mahavir Jayanti
April 14, Thursday, Puthandu (Tamil New Year)
April 15, Friday, Passover starts
April 15-17, Friday- Sunday, Coachella Weekend 2
April 16, Saturday, Hanuman Jayanti
April 17, Sunday, Easter
April 23, Saturday, Passover ends
April 15, Friday Passover starts
April 15, Friday, Pohela Boishakh (Bengali New Year)

May 2022

May 1, Sunday, Eid al-Fitr and Chaand Raat
May 16, Monday, Vesak, Buddha’s birthday
May 30, Monday, Memorial Day

July 2022

July 4, Monday, Happy birthday America!
July 9-10, Sunday-Monday, Eid al-Adha
July 26, Tuesday, Maldives Independence Day

August 2022

August 11, Thursday, Raksha Bandhan
August 14, Sunday, Pakistan Independence Day
August 15, Monday, India Independence Day
August 18, Thursday, Janmashtami
August 24-September 1, Wednesday-Thursday, Paryushan
August 28-September 5, Sunday-Monday, Burning Man
Aug. 30, Tuesday, Ganesh Chaturthi

September 2022

September 5, Monday, Labor Day (USA)
September 8, Thursday, Onam
September 26, Monday, Navratri starts

October 2022

October 4, Tuesday, Navratri ends
October 4, Tuesday, Dussehra
October 10, Monday, Columbus Day (USA) some people get the day off
October 13, Thursday, Karwa Chauth
October 24, Monday, Diwali
October 27, Wednesday, Bhai Dhooj
October 31, Monday, Halloween

Note: Garba will be every weekend this month

November 2022

November 8, Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
November 24, Thursday, Thanksgiving (USA)

December 2022

December 18, Sunday, Hannukah begins
December 25, Sunday, Christmas
December 26, Monday, Hannukah ends


I hope this calendar of events and the links to the sports and event areas helps you make wedding date decisions easier.

Did you find this calendar helpful? Let me know in the comments. And follow ShaadiShop on Facebook, Pinterest, or Instagram so you can see our latest guides and tips.

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! 🙂

Samta Varia, Founder & CEO ShaadiShop: South Asian Wedding Venues

ShaadiShop logo

Indian Wedding Friendly Wedding Venues
 Visit our main website to start your venue search today!


Cover image: Wedding Documentary Photo + Video; Venue: Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

 

Other ShaadiShop Articles You May Like:

  1. What To Ask Your Maharaj or Wedding Officiant About a Ceremony Flame At The Venue
  2. Why Some Venues Don’t Allow The Ceremony Flame at Indian Weddings (any weddings)
  3. How To Arrange Assigned Seating For an Indian Wedding Reception

One thought on “ShaadiShop’s 2022 South Asian Social Calendar: Wedding Date Guide