ShaadiShop’s 2021 South Asian Social Calendar: Wedding Date Guide

ShaadiShop’s 2021 South Asian Social Calendar Features:


Some of the couples we’re working with to find their wedding venue are already starting to look at wedding dates for 2020, so we wanted to get ahead so you don’t have to look up all of these dates individually!


January 2021

Jan. 1, Friday, Happy New Year!
Jan. 13, Wednesday, Lohri
Jan. 13-16, Wednesday-Saturday, Pongal (Tamil Harvest Festival)
Jan. 20, Wednesday, Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
Jan. 26, Tuesday, India’s Republic Day

February 2021

Feb. 4, Thursday, Sri Lankan Independence Day
Feb. 7?, Sunday, Superbowl, TBD
Feb. 15, Monday, President’s Day (3 day weekend)

March 2021

Mar. 11, Thursday, Maha Shivratri
Mar. 17, Wednesday, St. Patrick’s Day
Mar. 26, Friday, Bangladesh Independence Day
March 27, Saturday Passover starts
Mar. 28, Sunday, Holi

April 2021

Apr. 2, Friday, Good Friday
Apr. 3, Saturday, Passover ends
Apr. 4, Sunday, Easter
Apr. 9-11, Friday- Sunday, Coachella Weekend 1
Apr. 12, Monday, 1st day of Ramadan
Apr. 12, Monday, Ugadi (Telugu New Year)
Apr. 13, Tuesday, Vaisakhi
Apr. 14, Wednesday, Puthandu (Tamil New Year)
Apr. 15, Thursday, Bengali New Year
Apr. 16-18, Friday- Sunday, Coachella Weekend 2
Apr. 21, Wednesday, Ram Navami
Apr. 25, Sunday, Mahavir Jayanti
Apr. 27, Tuesday, Hanuman Jayanti

May 2021

May 11, Tuesday, Eid al-Fitr and Chaand Raat
May 26, Wednesday, Vesak, Buddha’s birthday
May 31, Monday, Memorial Day

July 2021

July 4, Sunday, Happy birthday America!
July 19-20, Monday-Tuesday, Eid al-Adha
July 26, Monday, Maldives Independence Day

August 2021

Aug. 14, Saturday, Pakistan Independence Day
Aug. 15, Sunday, India Independence Day
Aug. 21, Saturday, Raksha Bandhan
Aug. 21, Saturday, Onam
Aug. 29-Sept. 6, Sunday-Monday, Burning Man
Aug. 30, Monday, Janmashtami

September 2021

Sept. 4-11, Saturday-Saturday, Paryushan
Sept. 6, Monday, Labor Day (USA)
Sept. 9, Thursday, Ganesh Chaturthi

October 2021

Oct. 6-14, Wednesday-Thursday, Navratri
Oct. 11, Monday, Columbus Day (USA) some people get the day off
Oct. 14, Thursday, Dussehra
Oct. 24, Sunday, Karwa Chauth
Oct. 31, Sunday, Halloween

Note: Garba will be every weekend this month

November 2021

Nov. 4, Thursday, Diwali
Nov. 6, Saturday, Bhai Dhooj
Nov. 19, Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti
Nov. 25, Thursday, Thanksgiving (USA)
Nov. 28, Sunday, Hannukah starts

December 2021

Dec. 6, Monday, Hannukah ends
Dec. 25, Saturday, Christmas


I hope this calendar of events and the links to the sports and event areas helps you make wedding date decisions easier.

Did you find this calendar helpful? Let me know in the comments. And follow ShaadiShop on Facebook, Pinterest, or Instagram so you can see our latest guides and tips.

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! 🙂

Samta Varia, Founder & CEO ShaadiShop: South Asian Wedding Venues

ShaadiShop logo

Indian-friendly Wedding Venues
 Visit our main website to start your venue search today!

Cover image: Neha Assar Henna Artistry